Bid Advisory Board

Dr Georgina Davis

Interim Chair

Georgina is the owner of the Waste to Opportunity Enterprise, and she holds Board positions spanning both the natural resource and resource recovery sectors.  She is a Chartered Environmentalist and Chartered Waste Manager and her Doctorate in Environmental Technology focused on biopolymers.

Joyanne Manning

Joyanne Manning is both the Circular Economy and Waste and Resource Recovery Leader for Arup across Australasia. Joyanne is a Fellow and Executive Engineer of Engineers Australia.


Dr Ian Dagley was the Chief Executive Officer of the Cooperative Research Centre (CRC) for Polymers for 21 years, and subsequently he was Chief of the Science Partnerships and Engagement Division of the Defence Science and Technology Group (DST) for 2.5 years.

Bid Team

Professor Dr Chengrong Chen

Griffith University
Bid Leader and Interim CEO

Professor Chengrong Chen is a founding Director for Resource Recovery Recycling Remanufacturing Waste Hub, Griffith University.

T: +61 7 3735 7494
E: [email protected]

Dr Maryam Esfandbod

Griffith University
Bid Chief Operating Officer

Dr Maryam Esfandbod is Research Innovation Business Manager for the Resource Recovery Recycling Remanufacturing (4R) Waste Hub at Griffith University.

+61 7 3735 7876
E: [email protected]

Research Team

Education and Training Lead

Professor Cordia Chu AM

Griffith University
Education & Training Lead

Professor Cordia Chu, Director of Griffith University’s Centre for Environment and Population Health, Griffith University.

T: +61 7 3735 7458
E: [email protected]

Research Program 1: Design for circularity

Professor Hao Wang

University of Southern Queensland
Research Program 1  Lead

Professor Hao Wang is the Theme Leader in Centre for Future Materials (CFM) at USQ, and the incoming President of Asian-Australasian Association for Composite Materials for 2022-2024. He is the Editor-in-Chief of Composites Part B: Engineering.

+61 402 340 468
E: [email protected]

Dr Lachlan Yee

Southern Cross University
Research Program 1 Deputy Lead

Dr Lachlan Yee focuses on utilising the sustainable technology of polymer science and applies this to the challenges of the soil, aquatic and marine environments with emphasis on reducing waste and remediating pollution.

+61 2 6620 3624
E: [email protected]

Research Program 2: Transforming plastic waste

Professor Minoo Naebe

Deakin University
Research Program 2 Lead

Professor Minoo Naebe is the founding team leader for high performance materials group at Carbon Nexus, Institute for Frontier Materials at Deakin University.

T: +61 3 5227 1410
E: [email protected]

Dr Mohamed Elchalakani

University of Western Australia
Research Program 2 Deputy Lead

Dr Elchalakani is the Director of the Structural Laboratory at UWA. He is the author of “Single Skin and Double Skin Concrete Filled Tubular Members-Analysis and Design” published by Elsevier.

T: +61 8 6488 2376
E: [email protected]

Research Program 3: Clean up and remediate the environment

Distinguished Professor Andrew Ball

RMIT University
Research Program 3 Lead

Distinguished Professor Andrew S. Ball is Director of the ARC Training Centre for the Transformation of Australia’s Biosolids Resource and Distinguished Professor at RMIT University, Melbourne, Australia.

T: +61 431 500 865
E: [email protected]

Dr Mehran Rezaei Rashti

Griffith University
Research Program 3 Deputy Lead

Dr Mehran Rezaei Rashti is a soil and environmental biogeochemist at Griffith University.

T: +61 7 3735 3729
E: [email protected]

Research Program 4: Collaborating for a circular plastic economy

Professor Rodney Stewart

Griffith University
Research Program 4 Lead

Professor Rodney Stewart is an applied researcher solving a range of water-energy-waste transition problems for government and industry partners through conducting evidence-based research.

T: +61 7 5552 8778
E: [email protected]

Professor Damien Giurco

University of Technology Sydney
Research Program 4 Deputy Lead

Damien Giurco is Professor of Resource Futures and Deputy Director (Research) at the Institute for Sustainable Futures, University of Technology Sydney.

T: +61 2 9514 4978
E: [email protected]